Interesting Information

  • Slider
  • Slider
  • Slider

Science of Indian Rituals     [Top]

The ancient Indian rishis were scientists of spirituality, consciousness and Nature. Their acumen into the deepest depth of human mind had enabled them to develop a perfect science of systematic refinement and escalation of intrinsic faith and inherent tendencies of human self. They had developed the system of shodash sanskaras – sixteen sacraments – in this regard for the benefit of the masses.  These sixteen sacraments are methods of conditioning and training  or experiments of purification of accumulated instincts and inculcation of virtuous tendencies, performed during specific transitional phases of life. The combination of powerful mantras and procedures of yagya associated with each of these rituals had resulted from long-term dedicated research conducted by the rishis. This system of shodash sanskaras was devised to affect the subtle levels of human consciousness and hence had  an impact on the psychology, endocrine system and genetic machinery too.  The shodash sanskaras are integral part of the Indian culture and philosophy of life.
The modern age saw a deformed ‘short-cut’ version of the shodash sanskaras propagated and performed by the so-called Hindu ‘priests’ professionally in the name of religious rituals. Pt. Shriram Sharma Acharya a sagacious spiritual scholar, devoted saint and social reformer had pioneered revival of the original tradition of shodash sanskaras along with elucidation of different facets of Indian philosophy in scientific light.
Considering the mode of living, attitude towards life and spiritual level of an average person in today’s society, Acharya Sharma had found that six out of the sixteen (shodash) samkaras cannot be performed in present circumstances. As would be expected from a foresighted inventor, he, rather than sticking to  rigid traditions, modified the list of shodash sanskaras to serve the basic purpose effectively in modern conditions. He added four new methods and disciplines to this system which are most relevant in the modern age and which are to be performed regularly throughout the span of one’s life. These new sanskaras are – janma-diwasa, vivaha-diwasa, diksha and shikha. The ten sanskaras of the ancient system which were retained by him with their original teachings are – punsavana, namakaran, annaprashana, mundana, vidyarambha, yagyopavita, vivaha, vanaprastha, antyeshti and shraddha-tarpana. He had analyzed the scientific foundation and effects of each of them in detail and had explained them in simple language for educating the masses.     
The Revival of Samskaras (Sacraments) - Systematic Refinement of Human Self:
The central theme of Indian philosophy is continuity of life and realization of the soul as a manifestation of divine impulse. Successive refinement of human consciousness by elimination of animal instincts and evil tendencies of the mind and enlightenment of its inner cores was therefore given maximum importance by the rishis. In this regards, the system of shodas samskaras (sixteen sacraments) devised by them..

  Punswan Sanskar
  Namkaran Sanskar
  Annaprashan
  Mundan Sanskar

  Vidyarambha
  Yagyopaveet
  Deeksha Sanskar
  Vivah Sanskar

  Vanparshtya
  Antyeshthee
  Shradhhya Tarpan
  Janma Divas Sanskar

  Vivah Divas Sanskar
  What is sanskar
  संस्कार क्रम व्यवस्था (karmakand in sanskar)

Topic on page

Processing time: 0.0276seconds, database query : 23 in 0.011326 seconds